Personal
Comment 1

Birdy

A short story:

Not a minute after leaving my house to go to work this morning did I see a large mass of a bird sitting in a leafless tree by the side of the road.

Instant thought: what a gross turkey vulture. I hate turkey vultures.

Another look. Are those white tail feathers? And a white head?

Why yes, they are! And do you know what that means?? It’s a bald eagle! Practically in my backyard!

And I did what any other sane person would do at 8 in the morning.

I pulled over, turned my 4-way flashers on and took pictures.

Before you call me crazy, let me clarify that after growing up in Pennsylvania, the biggest bird I caught sight of were overweight robins. And when I went into the city, they were replaced with pigeons.

In short, a bald eagle is a big deal.

Unfortunately the eagle wasn’t too keen on me taking its picture, so it eventually flew away.

But I was really excited about my encounter. And still am.

Until next time.

(P.S. Photo quality is not great due to poor lighting and quick over-excited movements done on my part.)

Up next: Cozumel, Mexico!

1 Comment

  1. Oh my gosh I had a similar experience in Wildewood! It was breathtaking! Totally pulled over and turned my hazard lights on too :) By the time I thought “I should get a picture of this on my phone, he was gone!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

