Personal
Comment 1

Good ol Phil

Spring is near!

Dear Punxsy Phil, thank you, thank you, thank you. If you had predicted six more weeks of winter, I think I would’ve joined you in that burrow of yours to hibernate. Or send my farmtress friend Margaret after you; she has a zero tolerance policy on groundhogs.

Somehow winter weather was more fun as a child. Now it’s just inconvenient.

But I guess I shouldn’t complain too much; it reached 64 degrees in Southern Maryland today. It was the first time in a long time that I actually felt the sun’s warmth, which felt glorious. Let’s hope it lasts.

In honor of Phil and my husband’s heritage, I dug up some pics. Here we are at Gobbler’s Knob in 2007.

I’m surprised at how perky we looked. If you woke me up at 5 a.m.tomorrow and told me to hang outside to catch a glimpse of a groundhog, I can assure you that a smile would be the last thing on my face.

Here’s a close up of Phil, who would’ve been 121 years old four years ago.

I think he might’ve been escaping because he thought he saw Margaret in the crowd with a pitchfork…

Happy Groundhog Day!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: A weekend in Philadelphia | phoblography

Leave a Reply

