Personal
Comments 2

Maryland birthday

First of all, thank you for all the sweet and thoughtful birthday wishes. I had a wonderful birthday, which started with my parents spontaneously traveling to Southern Maryland from Pittsburgh to see Jay and me.

Dad and his girls, minus my sister Angela.

It was the sweetest surprise.

Tonight I celebrated my birthday with friends with some cake, but it wasn’t your ordinary birthday cake.

Allow me to introduce the Smith Island cake, official state dessert of Maryland, which consists of 6-12 thin layers of yellow cake filled with chocolate fudge icing in between.

This bad boy even had the state seal on it.

Jay and I were taken aback when the pastry shop said an 8-inch cake could feed 10-12 people. Supposedly the cake is so rich that the average person cannot eat a normal-sized slice.

Hellooo there.

Official verdict: it was delicious. And do you want to know what else is official? I have the greatest friends and family surrounding me.

Thank you for making my 26th birthday a special one.

2 Comments

  1. margaret says

    Gusta! That cake looks bangin! I hope you had a wonderful day beebs and keep me posted on the blooms!

    Like

Leave a Reply

