Film, Photography
Comments 5

Film

I’m a believer.

After the past two weeks, I can tell you that a sure-fire way to learn about ISO, shutter speed and aperture is to go ‘old school’ and use a film SLR camera. No automatic settings there. It’s just you, the camera, and more dials than you know what to do with.

Jeff, my unofficial photography coach, literally dropped his vintage Canon AE-1 film SLR in my lap and told me to finish off a roll.

Oh, boy.

I did a little more than finish off the roll. Jeff’s camera had a 24-exposure roll of film, but the film had ripped and wasn’t winding properly. I ended up taking an extra 16 shots that would never turn out. To make matters worse, Jeff had to open the camera to fix the film, ruining it at the same time.

Almost $9 later (the cost for one-hour film developing with digital CD), I walked away with three and a half photos that I took. Lovely.

I’m sharing two of them with you on the blog. After all that, I can still say it was worth the experience.

Thanks, coach!

5 Comments

  1. Jeff says

    Whoa whoa whoa, whoa. Pretty sure I’ve learned more from you than vice versa.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Cherry Blossom Festival on film | phoblography

Leave a Reply

