London, Travel
Comments 9

Lovely London – Day 3

“All good things must come to an end.” What a terrible quote, but it’s fitting since this is my final post on my European adventure. Thanks to everyone who followed along!

Kate and I made the most out of my third and last full day in London. First on the itinerary – grab a bite to eat at Borough Market, London’s popular outdoor food market.

What a beautiful and vibrant place. The sights and smells were just as colorful.

We had fun checking out all of the yummy goods. Not pictured but available in abundance were different types of cheese, baked goods, tea, fresh-squeezed juice, fruits and vegetables.

Needless to say, I had a pretty big lunch. Honey-roasted almonds and pecans, an egg custard pastry, fresh juice and a duck confit sandwich. Someone ship me back!

I love this storefront.

Above, at right, is a picture of my duck confit sandwich in the making. Can you see me drooling?

After the market, we strolled along the River Thames. Above, at right, is a view of the London Borough of Southwark.

All day, the clouds threatened to take over, but they didn’t succeed. In fact, they helped me capture some of my favorite views of London. Above is a shot of the Gherkin, the cucumber-shaped glass skyscraper.

Tower Bridge

Tower of London. Thank you again clouds. I love you.

More views of the Gherkin and Tower Bridge.

Are you a Harry Potter fan? If so, you’ll appreciate this. If not, skip ahead. Kate and I are both fans and made a special trip to King’s Cross Station to visit Platform 9 3/4. It was worth it for us. :)

At right is the Natural History Museum. There was a carousel, an ice-skating rink, and to make it even more charming, they strung twinkle lights in the trees. It was like a scene from a movie.

Natural History Museum

London is a great city. Great food, great shopping and nice people. I will remember it fondly. And I’d like to thank my hosts Kate & Nate for their incredible (and impulsive) hospitality. It will not go unforgotten!

9 Comments

  1. Awesome photos! They make me feel like I had missed a lot in London. You give me ideas where to explore next time. Thanks for sharing them with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

