Mexico, Travel
Comments 9

Archive dip: Mexico 2008

Everything is covered in pollen these days, and I’ve been dreaming of sailing away. Since I can’t do that, I’ve taken a cool dip into my photo archives.

Join me as I take you back to 2008 and to a place called Mexico…

Always traveling in the wee hours of the morning, which is unfortunate because I am the farthest thing from a morning person.

Arrival: Riviera Maya, Mexico, home to white beaches, blue waters and refreshing infinity pools.

Beach access gets two thumbs up.

Storm brewing.

Snails huddled together.

Day trip to Tulum to see the Mayan ruins.

Templo Dios del Viento (God of Winds Temple) facing the Caribbean Sea.

Stopped in Xel-ha to snorkel and snooze in a hammock.

The view from the hammock. Does it get better than this?

Wanted: a time machine. Who’s with me? :)

Note: These photos are from my pre-DSLR days and were taken with my Canon PowerShot SD900 point-and-shoot camera.

9 Comments

  1. I love Playa Del Carmen (I’m thinking of buying a plot there so I can spend eternity basking in the sun). I’ve taken many a picture of Playa, and I can say with certainty that yours are flat out some of the best I’ve seen. Well done. What are you using? Do you do any post production work? If so with what? Where do you stay when you’re there? By the way, you may not know this but there is a large Italian contingent in Playa. Because of that you can find some of the best Italian food this side of Rome there (including hand made pasta). Drop me a line. Again, loved the photos. Cheers

    Like

    • Hi, Wanderinggenie! An eternity basking in the sun sounds like heaven to me. For these photos, I was using my Canon point-and-shoot SD900, which I still have and love. For the rest of the photos seen on my blog, I use my Nikon D90 camera, and I post process my images using Adobe Photoshop Lightroom. When we were in Riviera Maya four years ago, we stayed at the Grand Mayan resort. Thanks for the tidbit about Italian food (amazing!), not that I needed another reason to return. :) I’m glad you stopped by; happy travels!

      Like

  2. Love your photos! This shows that it really counts who is behind the camera not “What kind of camera do you use?” My husband and I traveled here in 2010 for our 10th anniversary. We stayed at Secrets Maroma beach and took a day trip to Tulum. My photos have a lot more random people in them! Ha! I want to go back!

    Like

    • Haha, sometimes it’s impossible to get a shot without the randoms. Do me a favor and if you go back, take me with you! :) Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

