Personal
Comments 7

The Great Dayton Fair, Pa.

Kids are back in school, the days are getting shorter and I’m already thinking of layers for the fall.

But before I get ahead of myself, here’s my end-of-summer post.

During a trip back to Pennsylvania, I had the privilege of going to the Great Dayton Fair. Through my eyes…

Yes, this happened. The one and only ride I went on at the fair was a camel from North Carolina named Bubba. I may or may not have started the pageant wave as I rode in a circle. It seemed like the natural thing to do at the time. Bubba, thanks for memories!

The petting zoo was, in one word, scary. I did not quite comprehend the “lay your hand flat” to feed the animals until the very end, so I spent most of the time unknowingly sacrificing my fingers to all of the hungry barn animals. Note to all: skip this activity and just ride the camel.

Did you know that pigs can be trained entertainers? I didn’t until I witnessed the Pork Chop Revue show. Very entertaining!

Fair food, I love you. Beef fried rice, funnel cake and powdered sugar everywhere.

The grandstand was filled to the brim. Here, I watched my first Demolition Derby.

The crowds made this a fun event to watch. Cheering mandatory.

It was a fun way to end a great summer.

But wait! Jay and I have one more big adventure. For our long overdue honeymoon, we’re traveling to Australia for a week and a half. I still can’t quite believe it, and I also can’t wait to share our stories and photos with you.

If you have any suggestions on what to do, where to go or what to eat in Sydney and Cairns, please share!! Last, but not least, I hope you’re all enjoying the last days of summer. :)

7 Comments

  1. Great pics! When are you going to be in Sydney? As a Sydneysider I can verify there are many great places to eat and fun places to visit. I’ll be happy to provide some tips if you need them :)

    Like

  2. You must do the harbour bridge walk across the top of the bridge in Sydney. Views are amazing. I met my husband in Sydney and he did the walk with his friend at night and said it was just as spectacular.

    Like

Leave a Reply

