Australia, Travel
Comments 2

Part 7: Kuranda & the Reef

It’s time to check out Australia’s World Heritage rainforests, and there was no better way than to soar above it. Jay and I took a five-mile ride on the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, which dropped us off in a village called Kuranda, but not before giving us incredible views of the forest canopy.

1209_Ca1_001

Ca2

1209_Ca1_002

Ca1

After making it to Kuranda, we went to find some wildlife and headed to Kuranda Koala Gardens. I promised Jay that we’d find him a koala to cuddle, and many of our guidebooks told us this place was our ticket.

1209_Ca1_003

Ca3

They had an enclosed feeding/petting zoo full of friendly wallabies, kangaroos and wombats. And no, the koala stamp on Jay’s wrist is not permanent.

1209_Ca1_005

Ca4

Koala cuddling accomplished! While they are completely adorable, Jay observed that they are not as soft as they seem.

1209_Ca1_008

Ok, wombats are now my favorite marsupial. Just look at those short little legs.

1209_Ca1_006

Ca5

Exploring the jungle walks in Kuranda.

1209_Ca1_007

Ca6

1209_Ca1_010

Ca7

1209_Ca7_001

This pizza was delicious. What was next on the agenda? Snorkeling the reef!

1209_Ca7_002

Ca8

And finally, (and I’m afraid this will be completely anti-climatic for some), the Great Barrier Reef. Allow me to explain! I wish I had taken more photos, but the choppy boat ride to get to the reef lasted two hours and to be perfectly honest, looking through the viewfinder of my camera was not the best way to prevent “feeding the fish.”

But I can tell you that the water was this beautiful blue color and the reef was an explosion of bright colors . We had two dive spots and snorkeled for almost three hours. It was our most memorable activity, and yet, no photos that could accurately depict what we saw. You’ll just have to take our word for it, or better yet, go see it for yourself. :)

1209_Ca7_003

Some noteworthy things…

  • From afar, we saw a humpback whale breach!
  • Leonardo, the sea turtle, also made an appearance.
  • It was freezing. We had goosebumps the whole time.

1209_Ca7_004

That, my friends, concludes our trip to the wonderful country/continent of Australia. I’m so glad I got to experience it with my best friend, who also happens to be my husband. We did it! Now where to next? :)

Thank you all for following along. If you went to Australia and blogged about it, please share a link; I’d love to see and hear about your trip.

Part 1: Traveling to Sydney
Part 2: Sydney from day to night
Part 3: Bronte & Bondi beach time
Part 4: Blue Mountains
Part 5: Manly Beach
Part 6: Welcome to Cairns

2 Comments

  1. nptphotos says

    I have to admit, I’m kinda sad you’ve come to the end of Australia posts… Loved them all, my friend! (You look stinkin’ cute in that hat.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

